Mbale District District of Uganda

Mbale District

This a district in Eastern Uganda. It is named after the largest city in the district, Mbale, which also serves as the main administrative and commercial center in the sub-region.


The District is bordered by Sironko District to the north, Bududa District to the northeast, Manafwa District to the southeast, Tororo District to the south, Butaleja District to the southwest and Budaka District to the west. Pallisa District and Kumi District lie to the northwest of Mbale District. .


Mbale, the largest town in the district and the location of the district headquarters, is located approximately 245 kilometres (152 mi), by road, northeast of Kampala, the capital of Uganda, and the largest city in that country.[1] The coordinates of the district are:00 57N, 34 20E. It has an area of 518.8 square kilometres (200.3 sq mi). The districts of Bududa, Manafwa and Sironko were part of Mbale District before they were split off as independent districts of their own


The national census of 1991 estimated the district population at about 240,900. Eleven years later, in 2002, the national census that year put the population in the district at 332,600, with an annual population growth rate of 2.5%. In 2012, the mid-year population of Mbale District was estimated at 441,300.[2] A new national population census is planned for August 2014.[3] The district population is 92% rural.[4] The main ethnic group in the district are the Bamasaba or Bagisu.[5] The main language spoken in the district is Lugisu also known as Lumasaba.[5][6]