Kiruhura District District of Uganda

Kiruhura District

Kiruhura District is a district in the Western Region of Uganda. The town of Rushere is the site of the district headquarters.


Kiruhura District is bordered by Kamwenge District and Kyegegwa District to the north, Sembabule District to the north-east, Lyantonde District to the east, Rakai District to the south-east, Isingiro District to the south, Mbarara District to the south-west and Ibanda District to the north-west. The district headquarters are approximately 65 kilometres (40 mi), by road, northeast of Mbarara, the largest town in the Ankole sub-region.[1] The coordinates of the district are:-0.2101960, 30.8390492.[2]


The country home of the current Uganda President Yoweri Museveni is in Rwakitura, Nyabushozi County, in Kiruhura District. The Rwakitura home functions like an upcountry State House when the president is visiting.[5]


The 1991 national population census put the district population at about 140,950. In 2002, the national census estimated the population at 212,220, with an estimated annual growth rate of 3 percent. In 2012, the population was estimated at 300,800.[6]